The user administrator can select one or more users from the existing list of enabled users to assign to the Population.  A user must be assigned to a population in order to view and manage participants and tasks associated to that population.  To do so:

  1. Navigate to the Configure area, Security page, User Permissions tab.
  1. Click the Assign Users button.

2017-02-03 09_01_39-POPULATION NAME

  1. The Assign Users to Population page will appear.  Administrators can search for additional users by typing their names into the Search Users box.

2017-02-03 09_01_06-POPULATION NAME

  1. Select a set of users to be assigned to the population by checking the boxes next to each desired user. Selecting at least one user will enable the Next button.
  1. Click Next to continue to the Assign Permissions page.
  1. Assign roles:  In the Roles section of the page select the desired role(s) by checking the checkboxes next to a role in the list of roles configured for the population.

2017-02-03 09_02_59-POPULATION NAME

  • Click View to the right of a role to see the permissions associated to it under the Permissions header.

2017-01-12 16_47_41-POPULATION NAME

  • Multiple roles can be applied to a user simultaneously.  When multiple roles are applied, the resulting permissions are the union of the permissions of both roles.  For example, if one role has participant edit permissions and the second role does not, the combination of those roles will give the user participant edit permissions.
  1. Assign site access: When sites are being used in the Population, users will need access to those sites in order to see the other items that they have been given permissions for that are part of those sites.
  • In the Sites section of the page select the desired site(s) by checking the checkboxes next to a site in the list of sites configured for the population.

2017-01-12 16_26_41-POPULATION NAME

  • Search sites by entering a site name in the Search Sites box.
  •  Checking the All Sites (including ones created later) option will automatically check all of the sites in the list. Users with this option checked will not have to have their permissions edited to have access to additional sites that are created after their permissions have been configured.
  • Checking the Grant this user access to participants who are not assigned to any sites option will give the user permissions to view items that are not part of any configured sites.
  • Note that giving a user access to a site does NOT give that user permission to edit or delete that site, they can only view the site’s details and the items that are part of the site.
  1. Assign campaign access: Users will need access to campaigns in order to see the other items and data that they have been given permissions for that are part of those campaigns.
  • In the Campaigns section of the page select the desired campaign(s) by checking the checkboxes next to a campaign in the list of campaigns configured for the population.

2017-01-12 16_27_04-POPULATION NAME

  • Search campaigns by entering a campaign name in the Search Campaigns box.
  • Checking the All Campaigns (including ones created later) option will automatically check all of the campaigns in the list. Users with this option checked will not have to have their permissions edited to have access to additional campaigns that are created after their permissions have been configured.
  • Note that giving a user access to a campaign does NOT give that user permission to edit or delete that campaign, they can only view the items that are part of the campaign.
  1. Click Save to add the users and their configured permissions to the population or click Cancel to not assign the users.

Note that steps 6 – 8 are not required to assign the selected users to the population, i.e. users can be assigned to the population without altering their assigned sites or campaigns.