Roles

Define a variety of roles that best suits the needs of users within the population. Learn about the variety of permissions available to you and how they can help protect sensitive data in the system.

Previous: User Permissions

Next: Sites

1.Understanding Permissions

There are three sets of permissions for a population: Participant Workflows, Participants, and Submission Data. These permissions can be combined with site and campaign access permissions when assigning permissions to users (see Assign Users) to control what users in the population can see and do based on their job description or involvement in projects being supported by the platform.

  1. Participant Workflows: These permissions control access to participant workflow data including the ability to add workflows to participants, view workflow progress, and edit the details of workflow items. The available permissions include:
  • View: This permission allows users to view the Tasks page in Population Management and workflow progress for individual participants on participant profiles. The participant view permission is also required when viewing workflow progress on the profile.
  • Add: This permission allows users to add workflows to participants (or enroll participants into workflows).
  • Modify: This permission allows users to manipulate the status of any workflow item and edit task details such as the task due date or assignee.
  • Export: This permission allows the user to download participant workflow information in areas where it is supported. (Note that there are currently no locations that support the downloading of participant workflow information.)
  1. Participants: These permissions control access to participants and their profile data including the ability to add participants to the population and change their profile data. The available permissions include:
  • View: This permission allows users to view the Participants page in Population Management and allows users to view  individual participant profiles in the population.
  • Add: This permission allows users to add new participants to the population either with the New Participant page or with the Participant Import feature.
  • Modify: This permission allows users to edit information stored in participant fields on participant profiles for individual participants either individually or with the Participant Import feature.
  • Export: This permission allows the user to download a list of participants and their individual participant details in areas where it is supported.
  1. Submission Data: These permissions control access to submission data captured from population users or participants including the ability to add new data, or download it form the platform. The available permissions include:
    • View: This permission allows the user to view submission data for all activities that have collected data in the population. However, this will be filtered to a smaller set of activities depending of campaign and site access permissions.
    • Add: This permission allows the user to submit data through activities in the population.
    • Modify: This permission allows the user to edit activity data for activity tasks that have not been submitted for all activities in the population.
    • Export: This permission allows the user to download submission data for all activities in the population.
Was this helpful? Yes No Suggest edit

2.View Roles

The Roles tab on the Security page within the Configure area displays all existing roles configured for the population, provides the ability to edit those roles, and create new roles.  When a population is first created there are three roles created by default: Analyst, Coordinator, and Power User. To view the permissions associated to any existing role:

  1. Navigate to the Configure area, Security page, and click on the Roles tab.

2017-02-03 14_06_44-POPULATION NAME

  1. Click on the role name in the left sidebar.
  1. The right pane populates with the permissions associated to the selected role.
Was this helpful? Yes No Suggest edit

3.Create New Role

  1. Navigate to the Configure area, Security page, and click on the Roles tab.

2017-02-03 14_01_25-POPULATION NAME

  1. Click + New Role in the left sidebar.
  1. The New Role modal will open, enter a name for the Role in the Role Name field.

2017-02-03 13_32_58-POPULATION NAME

  1. Select the permissions for the role.  See Understanding Permissions for a description of each of the permissions available for participant workflows, participants and submission data.
  1. Click Save to create the role or click Cancel to return to the existing list of roles.
Was this helpful? Yes No Suggest edit

4.Edit Role

  1. Navigate to the Configure area, Security page, and click on the Roles tab.

2017-02-03 14_19_29-POPULATION NAME

  1. Click the Edit button.
  1. In the Edit Role modal, change the name of the role in the Role Name field.

2017-02-03 14_09_05-POPULATION NAME

  1. Check or uncheck permissions until the desired set of permissions is reached.
  1. Click Save to create the role or click Cancel to ignore all changes.

2017-02-03 14_10_18-POPULATION NAME

Was this helpful? Yes No Suggest edit

5.Delete Role

  1. Navigate to the Configure area, Security page, and click on the Roles tab.

2017-02-03 14_19_29-POPULATION NAME

  1. Click the Edit button.
  1. In the Edit Role modal click the Delete button.

2017-02-03 13_34_54-POPULATION NAME

  1. A confirmation message will appear warning that deleting the role will strip all users who have been given the role of the permissions that it contains.

2017-02-03 13_35_19-POPULATION NAME

  1. Click Delete to delete the role or click Cancel to leave the role in the population.

Was this helpful? Yes No Suggest edit
Suggest Edit