The User Management page in the Administration area displays all enabled and disabled users. An enabled user is capable of logging in to the platform and conducting actions, whereas a disabled user may not log in. Users on the system will be displayed here and organized first by enabled and disabled users and then alphabetically in descending order by email address.
The following information is displayed in this table:
To search for a particular user on the platform, enter a user’s name into the Search Users box. The user list that appears below the search box will filter when the user hits the enter key based on user’s first or last names that start with the information in the search box.
The User will now have a temporary password. Communicate this password to the user using a secure form of communication. No automated communications are sent from the platform to notify the user that they have been given a temporary password.
When a user account is disabled, the user will no longer be able to login to the system and view/manipulate the populations that they previously had access to, nor their own account details. They will also not be included on the list of available users when assigning users to a population on the User Permissions page of a population.
Disabled users who try to login to the platform will see an error page with the following message: “It appears this user account has been disabled. If you think that this is a mistake, please contact your system administrator.” This page will also contain a “Back to Login” button.
Steps to enable or disable a user:
If a user locks their account by failing to login correctly 10 consecutive times, or due to passing the threshold for inactivity, they will be prevented from getting past the login page of the platform. This will continue to happen so long as the account is locked. A user administrator can unlock a user’s account manually by following these steps: